Four: Enemy Lines

Ha, leave it to me to realize that to get back to the academy, you had  to go through the LaTay Clan territory. I don’t know how two DeBhlue Clan members, a fallen angel, and a high priest who happens to be a vampire can pass through here without being noticed. But I guess it would be a lot easier to travel during day through their lands. There are few vampires who choose to roam and hunt during day.

“Guys, we’re entering LaTay territory, be on guard!” I yell back to my followers.

We enter a nearby village, Akuma Village. Directly translated from Japanese, Demonic Village. Such a wonderful place to be, huh? Another perk of being here, is we’re still in LaTay territory, meaning we’re subject to ambush.

Many weary glances from peasants are upon us at this time. An elderly man, graying at the temples, with a scalp that the sun reflected into my eyes, causing intense pain, stared at us. A little boy played in the streets with fellow friends, but quickly moved out of my path. Do I really put off an evil vibe? Am I evil?

Finally I hear a young man yelling…

“Stupid Vampire!”

After that, a rock was cast at my head, in which Claude perfectly deflected with his sword.

“We’ve been discovered,” I whisper back at Grehits, “Get everyone ready to run…”

“Okay,” Grehits yells, “Formation B!”

In a split second, everyone in our group went in a separate direction. Me heading straight north into the Fair-weather Woods. The others should meet up with me around the entrance of the woods in a moment.

“Cecil,” a voice in the crowd staring at me yells out, “Cecil! Cecil de Bhlue!”

I direct my eyes to the man in the crowd, but not slowing my pace. It was an old man whom I had never seen before in my life. Nor my death.

Within a second, he was out of my sight, and I was approaching the Fair-weather Woods. I see Grehits and Jasmine waiting for me. I see also a strange purple-haired woman, no more than twenty-years-old, sneaking behind them.

“Guys,” I yell, “behind you!”

Before they can react, the woman pulls out a piece of wood and stakes Grehits… In the arm. Apparently, she isn’t a very well-trained Vampire hunter.

I rush behind her, with Claude coming from the East, noticing what had just happened. We tied her hands behind her back, and sat her up against a tree.

“Who are you?” Claude asks her, using his missing right eye to frighten her.

“Your worst nightmare,” the woman quickly snaps back, “I will banish every one of you to hell!”

“Our worst nightmare?” Jasmine questions, “Did you not just try and stake a Vampire in the arm?”

The rope falls off of the Vampire hunter’s wrists, and she presents a silver cross. Me and Claude take a step back, not without Claude getting a burn on his forearm, from making contact with the cross. However, Grehits and Jasmine stay strong.

“H…How come you aren’t cowering?” The Vampire hunter asks, seeming puzzled.

“I, myself, am a high-priest, with the addition of being a Vampire,” Grehits explains, with a hint of arrogance in his voice.

“I…Impossible!” She stutters, her pupils shrink as small as the tip of a pin. “A…And what about you, Little Miss Pinkhair?”

“You want to know?” Jasmine questions as her wings gracefully glide from the inside of her back. “I am a fallen angel.”

Grehits goes over to the Vampire hunter who is cowering in fear, takes the silver cross out of her hand, and crushes it.

“Just kill me already,” the Vampire hunter says with a grunt.

“And why would we want to do that?” Grehits asks, “I’m a priest. Murder is a sin.”

“Just kill me… Eat me,” She pleads again, “I cannot go back to my home and face my family. It would be a disgrace.”

“Then go. Run,” Claude steps in, “Never return, never come anywhere near us again. Spare your life, and your pride. Go as far North as possible.”

“B…But,” she stuttered.

“Go!” Claude yelled louder than I had ever heard him.

The Vampire hunter ran off.

“Wait!” I yell to the hunter, “I didn’t get your name!”

She stops and yells back, “Loite, Loite Ring,” then she runs off again.

“Why did you care for that scum’s name?” Claude questioned me.

“I was just wondering,” I replied, “simple curiosity.”

Claude growled at me, and took lead. We walked through the Fair-weather Woods for hours before we got to the base of Asylum Mountain.

“We’re out of LaTay territory. It’s only a very long walk up the mountain to the academy. C’mon, guys. We’re almost there.”

And with that, we started up the mountain.

About teenagemadman

Enter the journey of Cecilius DeBhlue, in his desperate attempt to save the planet from his own kind....The Vampires.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment